Vintage Vanity – Lancome Color Fan Eye Shadow Palette Review

One of my very first high end makeup kits - got me hooked from the word go!

One of my very first high end makeup kits – got me hooked from the word go!

Hi lovelies!

You may have figured I’m a fan of Lancome skincare by now! Interestingly, I was introduced to the company through its’ makeup range. I got the Lancome color fan palette for my birthday way back in 2010.

This was one of my first very first high end makeup kits so I hold it very close to my heart. Literally. I still have it 😛

It turned out to be one of those rare eyeshadow powder palettes that you could pick up 10 years from today and find it wearable! The color selection is great – it has all the shades that you need to dress  your face up or (down) at any time of the day 🙂

Th shadows have great pigmentation and and never creased. I used this without a primer and it stayed in place until I took it off even in the sweaty months of july! The look is slightly shimmery, but it is subtle enough to be worn during the daytime. The purple and filigree (top right) were my favorite – I even repurchased filigree separately for a comparatively hefty price of 20 USD three years ago! You can cake filigree on for the smokey eyed look, apply it with a thin liner brush for highlighting your inner lids/lower lash line or put one layer over your lids for work to give yourself a fresh look. If you’re feeling adventurous, put filigree on the inner lid and blend the purple in to cover your entire lid. It looks very high fashion 😉

I didn’t get to use the other four shades much. There was absolutely no quality issue, it was just that the baby pink, green, blue were too light to be distinguishable on my skin tone. They all come across whitish so I used them for brow highlighting and face contouring. The brown on the other hand wasn’t dark enough to be used for smokey eyes and just gave me a sickish look 😛 If you are fair skinned though, you don’t need to worry about it and feel free to buy this with your eyes closed!

Despite a few shortcoming, I was (and still am) a fan of this palette. Its’ great value for money (right now it is listed for 50 USD), is packaged so adorably and the velvet pouch it comes with gives it the additional oomph factor 🙂 I truly hope Lancome relaunches this with vibrant colors replacing the light tones for brown girls in the coming years!

You can order this online (its on sale almost everywhere!) for 20 USD. The only reason I hesitate repurchasing it is because it is not available on sephora or the other more reliable beauty suppliers so I am wondering if they are fake or expired! If you live in a part of the world where returns aren’t an issue though, you should definitely get this 🙂

That’s it for now lovelies!  Next week, I’ll be back with a Kiehls product review from my latest makeup hoarding session 🙂 See you then!

Lots of Love,

WBVANITY

For image source click here.

Leave a Reply

